Lessons in Meowish (Meowish for Beginners)

Hello evfurryone! Addycat here again =^..^=
Today I would like to introduce you all to a widely spoken, but rarely known language (to humans anyway), Meowish.

Meowish is the language us cats use to commewnicate with over the internets. (Not to be confused with the supurr secret language of Purrglish, which we cats use with each other in purrson and i will NOT be cofuring in this class because… well… it’s supurr secret!)

Moving on. Im sure many of you readers have noticed that some of the words I use are spelled diffurently than you would find in a human blog. These words are part of the Meowish language and allow swift compurrehension of commewnication among cats!

The words sound furry similar to the English word it repurresents, which means that almost efurrybody can read Meowish, but kittehs seem to understand Meowish better. I think this is because if we come across the Meowish writing, we know it has been written by a cat and we will therefurr pay attention.

Cats are the far supurrior beings, so we know if a cat has written something, it must be impurrtant! The writings in English are largely ignored by cats because… well… it is written and spoken by humans. And we ALL know humans have nothing impurrtant to talk or write about, unless it has to do with noms. Or pawsibly Da Bird toys or chin scritches. (No offense to any of my human readers… The truth is the truth.)

Now, you may be wondering why I am writing a post on beginning Meowish if we cats already know the language. I was reading a great blog that I subspurribe to, Cats at the Bar, and left a comment about Meowish there. The human of that blog respawnded and seemed intpurrested in the language.  I thought maybe other humans might be intpurrested too and im sure other cats will find the topic intpurresting too!

This post is already getting long and I am furry ready fur my evening nap, so we will begin with the furst rule of Meowish fur today.

Meowish Rule #1

When writing a word, think of any cat – related words that could pawsibly be used in the spelling of that word. For example: the word pawsibly. Now, humans write this word as: possibly. In Meowish, “poss” is replaced with “paws”, because… it sounds the same and cats have paws! The “o” in the English word “for” is replaced with “u”, making the word “fur” because… cats have fur. Is this making sense, humans?

Would you like to learn Meowish? Are you cats intpurrested in observing humans learning Meowish? If so, we might start a Meowish dictionary where cats and humans (and MAYBE even some of the more intelligent barkie things) can submit words for the dictionary!

image

Oh… don’t furget to go check out the kittehs at Cats at the Bar!

Trills, Addycat

About Eli's Mommy

I am a mother and a kitty cat lover. I'm a little girlie and a lot geeky. I would do anything in the world for my children. I've been described with many words, ranging from compassionate to mysterious. I suppose I am a complex person, an old soul from my birth. There is a depth to me that no one has ever come close to experiencing, and probably never will. I wanted so much to become a nurse. I've always wanted to help others. Unfortunately, my life took a very different path. I have a lot of health issues which have left me disabled. That won't stop me from helping other people whenever and however possible. Please, please follow me. You won't be disappointed, I promise! View all posts by Eli's Mommy

29 responses to “Lessons in Meowish (Meowish for Beginners)

  • tvkapherr

    I LOVE IT! Sign me up for the class. I will advertise you class and dictionary on my blog (thanks for the plug) I will practice tonight!

  • markbialczak

    So how did the sons do in their baseball game Friday, Adder?

    • addercatter

      Ah, they lost 8-1 😦 our pitcher was having a bad day, the other team was really good, and we couldn’t hold onto the ball. However, Garrett did score our only run, so there was one good thing… also, both boys made several really good plays, although no double play… yet πŸ™‚

      • markbialczak

        Sometimes there’s more to a game than the final score, Adder. And it sounds like it was for your boys on Friday. Yay!

      • addercatter

        This is true, however at their age it matters probably more than it should, especially since they have a tournament at the end of next week. They are both hoping to get scholarships into college, so as long as they do their personal best… but in order to be scouted, the whole team needs to do well… hopefully we won’t have a repeat of that game anytime soon! The whole playing for fun thing is sort of out the window when it comes down to what happens in their future regarding college.

      • markbialczak

        That is a lot of self-imposed pressure, for sure. I hope they play well and the team has enough success to draw attention from college coaches. Good luck for the tournament, Adder.

      • addercatter

        Thank you, and yes, it really is a lot of pressure. They both love the game so much. They have been playing since they were 4 and 5 years old. Since they were both very small, their favorite toys were always some form of a ball… or anything that could be used as a ball and bat. I’ve always wondered if they would ever tire from the game, but it seems the opposite is true. They just can’t get enough of it. If they have free time at home, it is likely they are playing or practicing in some form. I wish i was that passionate about something! πŸ™‚

      • markbialczak

        Blogging for you, perhaps?

      • addercatter

        Perhaps. I seem to have a commitment issue… and a procrastination issue… sigh.

      • markbialczak

        I understand, Adder. I hope it can feel like a happy thing for you more than a chore. Anyway, you sure are fortunate to have two sons who are commited to a pursuit like baseball earning their way to college, my friend.

      • addercatter

        Yes, I am very fortunate indeed. Thank you.

  • tvkapherr

    I’m trying to get a class photo. Almost had one when the dog barked and everyone scattered. As soon as I get it I have Meowish post ready.

  • tvkapherr

    Posted a class photo, not my best, but you try and shoot 5 kittens! Hope you like it.

    • addercatter

      Awww… it’s furry adorable! They look like they’re being patient alright! MOL! If you can get a list of names fur me, I will include the class photo in the next Meowish lesson post! Purrs, Addycat

      • tvkapherr

        Glad you like it. I haven’t got names for them all yet, so feel free to be creative.

      • tvkapherr

        Thought you’d like this. I posted Meowish 101 on 5 different sites and is well over 100 likes. I got a message from someone asking where they could by the book.

      • addercatter

        Wow that’s crazy! I’m kind of in shock…

      • tvkapherr

        Did I say something wrong!

      • addercatter

        No of course not! I just can’t believe that many humans are interested in the language of cats! MOL Maybe they are smarter than I give them credit fur! =^..^=

      • tvkapherr

        Tumblr, Google+ did about 20 each. Facebook did 11, but Reddit and Stumble Upon are now over 100 each.

      • addercatter

        Wow! Guess I should get busy on that next post then huh… do you really think a book would sell? I know it was just one purrson asking about it…

        On a side note… how can you have kittehs with no names? Isn’t that confusing? MOL!!!

      • tvkapherr

        As their personalities come out we name them. We have Hairy Potter, He’s obvious, Spike because his tail is always straight up and its longer than his body. That kind of idea.
        I think a book would do great. I’ve not seen anything like it out there so why not! I forgot to mention the re-shares, which were about 40. But its still doing about 20 views an hour. (Sorry I’m a numbers guy) WP is actually my smallest site so don’t go by the posts numbers.

      • addercatter

        I like numbers too, fur a cat it might sound odd… i sometimes count my crunchy noms befur I eat. And I ALWAYS count my treats.

        Hairy Potter is a furbulous name! Meowmie and i have read the books and watched the movies. Voldemort scares me. Once I was sitting on Meowmie’s lap as we watched one. I got so furightened that I dug all my claws into Meowmie’s legs. She got furry hissed off MOL. Ah memories…

      • addercatter

        Ohh… i furgot to say thank you! This kitteh furgot her manners in all the excitement!

      • tvkapherr

        Your very welcome πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

