Eye Makeup First Impressions

I was bored, so I decided to try a few items I haven’t used yet. Yes… it’s 10:30pm and I’m putting on makeup… so what?

Anyway, I was only planning on comparing two mascaras but after applying them, I wanted to try a couple new eyeliners so it looks like crap since I did it backwards. Anyways…

The first mascara I put on was this one…

image

This is one of the new versions of Rimmel Scandaleyes. It’s supposed to help curl lashes. I like the formula and the way it also adds fullness and length. It also did well on my almost non-existent lower lashes. The brush is extremely fat and kinda wonky…

image

The second one I applied was another version of the Rimmel Scandaleyes Flex, with fibers…

image

The brush is fat too, but not curved. The formula is extremely wet and I found it a bit hard to work with and also a bit clumpy, but maybe I just applied the second coat too soon. It sort of made a mess of my bottom lashes, but my hands are always shaky so it could have just been that.

image

I tried out my new Real Techniques brow brush/comb and I absolutely LOVE it. The comb is metal! It did a perfect job of combing my lashes between mascara coats to get rid of most of the clumps from the Flex mascara too 🙂

image

image

I also put the Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Eyeliner in Nude on my waterline. I like the way it looks as I’ve never used a nude eyeliner on my waterline before. As far as being waterproof… that remains to be seen!

image

Lastly (told ya I did this backwards) I used the new Maybelline Master Duo to line my upper lashes. It was very smooth and easy to use, but it does dry fast so I had to work quickly. Since I already had mascara on, it doesn’t look that great, but I can tell it will be wonderful next time I use it.

image

image

These pictures suck because my phone camera’s battery was low and the flash wouldn’t work. Anyway, the brush has a thick part on the end but if you turn it sideways it is thin.

image

See, you can easily get either a thick or thin line. The formula goes on super smooth and did not tug at my lids at all. Underneath I swatched the nude eyeliner. It’s very creamy and smooth too!

Ok… Here’s how it turned out…

image

Looking at the picture, the curling mascara (orange tube) is on the left and the Flex fiber mascara is on the right.

image

image

I have no other makeup on except a wet n wild lipstick that I couldn’t get a good picture of. I really needed the flash to capture the pink/blue shift in the shade.

This was a long post. At least it stopped the boredom! Have you tried any of these products?  What do you think? Which eye do you like better?

About Eli's Mommy

I am a mother and a kitty cat lover. I'm a little girlie and a lot geeky. I would do anything in the world for my children. I've been described with many words, ranging from compassionate to mysterious. I suppose I am a complex person, an old soul from my birth. There is a depth to me that no one has ever come close to experiencing, and probably never will. I wanted so much to become a nurse. I've always wanted to help others. Unfortunately, my life took a very different path. I have a lot of health issues which have left me disabled. That won't stop me from helping other people whenever and however possible. Please, please follow me. You won't be disappointed, I promise! View all posts by Eli's Mommy

Leave a Reply

