Invisible Illness Awareness Week

This topic is very important to me. Please help us help others to become aware that just because our health issues aren’t obvious, doesn’t mean they aren’t just as valid as someone with visible chronic health issues.

Our Life with Ehlers Danlos Syndrome

Once again, it is time to shine awareness on living with Invisible Illness.  Invisible Illness Awareness Week is September 9 – 15 this year. So many people live with conditions that are invisible to the average bystander and suffer for it. They don’t suffer from just the medical condition itself, which probably brings more than enough difficulty and challenges, but they suffer from the ignorance of the people who have no idea that their reactions and comments have a serious impact on the ill person.

EDS is just one of many invisible illnesses and, as many EDSers will agree, it is far too easy to be classified as an attention seeker, a hypochondriac, or a loon; as lazy, crazy and a drug seeker just because the symptoms cannot be seen. To have such a vital and basic part of yourself labeled as nuts is as painful as any physical part…

View original post 276 more words

About Eli's Mommy

I am a mother and a kitty cat lover. I'm a little girlie and a lot geeky. I would do anything in the world for my children. I've been described with many words, ranging from compassionate to mysterious. I suppose I am a complex person, an old soul from my birth. There is a depth to me that no one has ever come close to experiencing, and probably never will. I wanted so much to become a nurse. I've always wanted to help others. Unfortunately, my life took a very different path. I have a lot of health issues which have left me disabled. That won't stop me from helping other people whenever and however possible. Please, please follow me. You won't be disappointed, I promise! View all posts by Eli's Mommy

One response to “Invisible Illness Awareness Week

Leave a Reply

